top of page

23 - Rihanna


Karen Smith

Hello Rihanna, babe. I am --- with you. Wait babe... Billboard --- glitch on the line. Are you ok to continue?

Rihanna

Hello! Sorry about that, traffic took longer than expected.

Karen Smith

Hello babe.

Rihanna

Hi queen.

Karen Smith

What were --- traffic. Did you go somewhere nice?

Rihanna

Somewhere far away from here.

Karen Smith

Where is that babe?

Rihanna

Troye Sivan’s closet.

Karen Smith

Babe, I was there --- ago. He was hiding in it. I found him though!

Rihanna

You did? I was looking for his internet connection but I couldn’t find it. Maybe it was just a glitch?

Karen Smith

I didn't find that either. Anyway, babe tell me, where --- on holiday this year?

Rihanna

Where on holiday this year? Like Christmas and shit?

Karen Smith

No babe. Where are you going -- vacation?

Rihanna

Oh, on vacation! I went to Italy last year so this year I’m going to get lost in Japan

Karen Smith

What -- be doing in Japan?

Rihanna

Oh just promoting my makeup line a bit, might promote Digital Disturbance but who knows. Probably gonna go drinking as always.

Karen Smith

Do you --- drink a lot babe?

Rihanna

I’m a part of the Wine Squad for a reason dear.

Karen Smith

Good news babe. Billboard told me the connection issues are fixed. Tell me about your album that caused the issues, babe.

Rihanna

Oh, Digital Disturbance? I wanted to try a brand new sound and really experiment. I decided to step a bit away from the pop sound that I was used to with Showtime and really try a bit of electronic and dubstep like sounds. I added in a bit of hip hop and EDM as well.

Karen Smith

Why did you think that was a good idea, babe?

Rihanna

I just thought it was time for something new. I’d already done pop three times before, and I’ve done hip hop/R&B 4 times before. Digital Disturbance is literally a disturbance from my regular genre.

Karen Smith

Yeah, I heard that this time you've cut down on collaborations. Tell me why did you do that after you released 20 feature singles last season?

Rihanna

Yes, I know, Showtime was filled with collabs. Even though Digital Disturbance has 4 collabs, I wanted something a bit more stripped down. Personal, as P!nk would say.

Karen Smith

Who is P!nk?

Rihanna

Alecia Moore? Runs practically everything in regard to the Pop Industry.

Karen Smith

I don't know who that is, babe. Anyway, tell me about your other collaborators.

Rihanna

Well, the first artist to be featured on the album is a producer named SOPHIE. I heard her single Faceshopping, fell in love, and wanted to recreate a sound similar for Digital Disturbance. She helped produce a bunch of tracks and is featured on the first song “You Must Be”. She’s a transgender artist, which is really important because I don’t think transgender artists or any other LGBT artists really get the credit they deserve.

Karen Smith

I've never heard it babe.

Rihanna

It’s great, I recommend the song! Then I featured Troye Sivan on “Glitch.” We’d been talking back and forth since we collaborated on “Sushi” last year, and we still got a couple of collabs planned as well.

Karen Smith

Keep your hands off my boyfriend, slut. I mean, babe.

Rihanna

He’s all yours babe, I’ll have whatever’s left behind.

Third Collab: Kehlani on “Whatever You Feel”. This was the hardest collab cuz I had no idea who I wanted to feature. I heard a song of hers on the radio and fell in love with her voice. The last collab was Lana Del Rey. I sampled “Under the Blue” by Troye, re-worked it, and cut his vocals. I kept Lana’s and called it “Might Be Blue”.

Karen Smith

I'm sorry babe. I was confused. You were speaking too much.

Rihanna

Sorry babe.

Karen Smith

Anyway babe, why don't you tell me how your relationships with Lana and Troye are.

Rihanna

Troye and I are great! We get along well and I usually go to him for advice when it comes to visuals. He’s always super kind and supportive. May he and his internet connection Rest In Peace. He shall be missed. Oh em gee, I love Lana too. I haven’t got a chance to listen to Melanin yet but it seems cool.

Karen Smith

I'm so proud of Troye. I heard he's going to have his own label next year!

Rihanna

I heard about that too! Hopefully he’ll have internet by then. Maybe he’s being sabotaged? Maybe it’s just a glitch?

Karen Smith

Katy also told me she's coming back soon. Tell me babe. How would you rank the executives (P!nk, Katy, Gaga, Xtina and Troye) from best to worst? Tell me why.

Rihanna

I’m gonna get dragged for this…

Karen Smith

I don't know what you mean babe, but ok.

Rihanna

P!nk, Xtina, Katy, Gaga, Troye. P!nk knows the most, Xtina’s always there. Katy knows a lot too. Gaga’s makeup sets slay my life. Troye’s nice but he’s not an executive yet plus his WiFi is dead.

Karen Smith

My boyfriend loves being on the bottom so I'm sure he'll appreciate this!

Rihanna

That’s true. We love a bottom!

Karen Smith

Tell me babe, how do you feel about the label rep... reput... rats... people that aren't executives (Lana, Marina, Carrie)?

Rihanna

Fuck Florence and the Marina and the Diamonds. She’s a ho.

Karen Smith

I'm confused babe.

Rihanna

Lana’s cool. Carrie’s cool too. I don’t talk to either much, honestly.

Karen Smith

Aw that's nice babe. Anyway babe, if you have time, should we play a game?

Rihanna

Of course, we can play a game! What kinda kinks you into babe?

Karen Smith

Million Dollars Butt… I mean, But. Here's how it works babe: I pick out two cards. One will say "Million Dollars but..." every time one thing happens, something else - on the other card - will also happen. I'm confused actually, babe. Lemme text Katy.

Ok babe, she said basically; you get a million dollars but something bad happens each time.

Rihanna

Ah, I think I get it.

Karen Smith

She also said if you could say if you would take the million dollars and, also, who else would probably do it too, if that's ok, babe.

Rihanna

That’s great. Let’s get the party started!

Karen Smith

Awesome babe, I love that Beyoncé song too!

Question One: Million Dollars, But... When someone gossips about you... You have to stick your hand in the nearest toilet?

Rihanna

Eww no thanks. Madonna might though. She’s into some kinky shit.

Karen Smith

Question Two: Million Dollars, But… When someone corrects you... You get hit in the face with a flying basketball.

Rihanna

I’d take it. A bitch is usually always correct. Also, I don’t know what a basketball is? Is that something The Weeknd dropped? I am confusion.

Karen Smith

Didn't P!nk correct you yesterday, babe? And didn't I just correct you now?

Rihanna

P!nk? What? I don’t know her. I am confused. Maybe it was just a glitch?

Karen Smith

I don’t know either, babe.

Question Three: Million Dollars, But… Whenever you see fireworks... You have to spend the night in an abandoned, haunted insane asylum.

Rihanna

Fuck yeah. I barely see fireworks and I love haunted insane asylums anyway. Talking about haunted insane asylums, have you seen Xtina’s vagina lately?

Karen Smith

Who else do you think would do this babe?

Rihanna

Katy wouldn’t, she loves “fireworks”.

Karen Smith

Question Four: Million Dollars, But… Whenever you see me... You get a thimble of cat pee spilled on you

Rihanna

What the fuck is a thimble? Sure, I barely know who you are.

Karen Smith

I am Karen babe... I think.

Rihanna

Also, I think The Weeknd would do this too. He loves getting pissed on.

Karen Smith

Final question, babe.

Rihanna

Okay…

Karen Smith

Million Dollars, But... Every year on your birthday... A random kid claims you are their parent and violently cries when you tries to deny it.

Rihanna

Uhh hard pass on that one. Madonna might, doesn’t she have like thirty kids? Also, Erika might, doesn’t she have a kid or six?

Karen Smith

I cannot confirm or deny this because I don't know. Anyway babe. Thank you for the game. I have a few more questions --- failing career.

Rihanna

Failing career? Kylie Minogue? You know if you say failing career three times in a mirror at night Kylie shows up and hypnotizes you.

Karen Smith

Question One ---

*Billboard Notice*

This interview has been terminated due to a lack of internet connection.

Rihanna

Oh, Troye Sivan must’ve showed up, that bitch. Maybe it was just a glitch.

bottom of page