top of page

10 - Jennifer Lopez


New York

Billboard have told me I have to do an interview with you before the Label Festival. Let's get this over with, so I can go home!

Hello Thing 2, how are you?

Jennifer Lopez

I'm good, how are you?

New York

Hopefully I'll be better when this is over with…

Jennifer Lopez

Oh yes, I'm tired. But I'm still fine!

New York

So, Jennifer, tell me. What is your relationship with Pitbull?

Jennifer Lopez

Haha, it's funny you brought that up! Honestly, we haven't talked much in a while. I still consider him a friend, but we haven't done any music together in ages.

New York

Oh. I thought he was your Thing 1. Moving on! Instead of your 600th unreleased collaboration with Pitbull, you decided to release the song 'You're Not Mine', featuring some other person. Who is Anita and why did you choose to work with her?

Jennifer Lopez

Tehehe. I've been into Anitta for a bit now. Her songs are bops and I love how she's fearless about showing her body! I heard that she wanted to work with me, so I called her up and asked if she wanted to do a song with me. She was so excited and then the producers started making the song, we recorded it, and it turned out well!

New York

Uh-huh. What was the song about? How not to get a hit?

Jennifer Lopez

No, no, no! I've just gone through a divorce and I thought of something that could be an empowering anthem. I've gone through rough relationships and most didn't end up well. So the song is kind of about how sometimes men take over you and think that you're they're girl, but you realize something is wrong and you know they're not for you. Simply put, they're not yours.

New York

Oh, that sounds sad… whatever! Let's talk about the rest of your plans. What else have you got coming up for your fans (whoever they are), to dig into?

Jennifer Lopez

Well, I'm going to be coming out with a new song very soon. The album is still a bit in the works of production, but I have a couple of songs ready to be released as singles. The album is upbeat, with a couple of ballads. I'm passionate about this era and I think it's something my fans will enjoy.

New York

Oh that sounds like something I don't intend to listen to. Thankfully, I don't have to! Let's talk about some other so-called music that's out there right now. What songs are you enjoying?

Jennifer Lopez

Personally, I do enjoy the Latin artists that are out right now. I like Nicky Jam, J Balvin, and some of the others that are current. I also enjoy rap artists like Drake and French Montana.

New York

Oh, they're so much better than the bitches I usually have to interview!

Well Jennifer, we're almost out of time. But before I go, Billboard have given me a list of tweets from your fans, which they would like you to answer. Are you ready?

Jennifer Lopez

Yes, I am!

New York

"@PI_Jlo, girl, what do you think of @PI_MariahCarey?"

Jennifer Lopez

I'm not in a feud with her, and I have always respected her as an artist. I know that there is some negativity out there, but she's a very talented singer. I've been a fan of hers for ages!

New York

"@PI_JLo, sis, what are your thoughts on artists like @PI_Xtina, @PI_Rihanna or @PI_Perrie who tweet all the time?"

Jennifer Lopez

I like Xtina; she's a talented vocalist and I enjoy her songs. I really like Rihanna; she's super cool and her songs are bops. Perrie is a shady girl, but I still like her. There's really no one here who I particularly dislike.

New York

"Girl, @PI_JLo, are you aware that you need to tweet to up your streaming points? Sincerely, all of your fans".

Jennifer Lopez

I have been busy lately, so I haven't had much time to tweet, but I like to do it as much as I can! I am aware that I need to tweet. After busy days, I'm exhausted and I like to lay down, watch TV for a while, and spend time with my kids.

New York

Well Jennifer, that's all for today. I'd like to thank you for the interview and wish you luck with getting signed and charting within the top 25. Bye!

Jennifer Lopez

Adios!

bottom of page