top of page

11 - Rihanna


Karen Smith

Hello darling. I am so sorry that I am late. I was very confused. It's not like me at all! Anyway, how are you, babe?

Rihanna

Oh my fucking god! I honestly got the time wrong too!

Karen Smith

How much have weed have you smoked today, babe?

Rihanna

Not enough…

Karen Smith

Do they not stock weed in England, queen?

Rihanna

I may be the queen but I am not from or in England!

Karen Smith

Who are you, then?

Rihanna

I am Robyn Rihanna Fenty; the queen of Barbados!

Karen Smith

Never heard of you…

Rihanna

Well, that’s a shame!

Karen Smith

Anyway, babe, tell us what you do as the Queen of Barbados. Do you get to live in a palace?

Rihanna

Of course! Nothing but the best for royalty.

Karen Smith

Oh, are you referring to Erika Jayne’s album? Wait… are you Erika Jayne?

Rihanna

I’m only referring to one of the most iconic songs of the decade.

Karen Smith

‘You Can’t Sit With Us’ is my fave too, babe!

Rihanna

I mean that's a hit as well but definitely not the one I was referring to…

Karen Smith

Tell us, Erika. What's been happening with you since your last interview?

Rihanna

Well, a ton has happened! I got signed to Republic records and sort-of pissed off P!nk. I released my #1 album, ‘Showtime’, which is available on iTunes and Spotify. My lead single featuring Lady Gaga and Kesha went #2 as well! Plus, I’ve got a new single called ‘Please Don't Fall’ featuring the Wine Squad; out now!

Karen Smith

Oh that sounds like a lot, babe. Have you any plans for the future?

Rihanna

I’ve got a few collaborations coming in the future. Next week I plan on remixing ‘Please Don’t Fall’, and I'll be releasing ‘In and Out of Love’ as an international single! I’ve got a few more hits coming from ‘Showtime# as well; mainly ‘To Be Honest (Drunk)’ and ‘Fire to Die For’ – maybe even ‘Curtain Call’ too! But back to those collaborations, I’ve got a couple of big surprises coming in the next week and they're going to be huge; like, as big as Kesha’s ego!

Karen Smith

Who is Kesha?

Rihanna

I ask myself that question a lot!

Karen Smith

Oh, me too, babe!

Billboard tells me you re-issued your album this week. Do you think you'll get another week at #1? Who is your biggest competition?

Rihanna

Well hopefully, although I'm not sure how my streaming is doing. I'm honestly trying to think of my competition. Xtina could have me beat with streaming numbers. Kesha could pull through with an upset debut… and I'm hoping Erika debuts high; I'm perched for her.

Karen Smith

Who are you not perched for, sis?

Rihanna

Well, Adam Levine’s new album doesn’t compare to ‘Popular’, at all!

Karen Smith

How do you feel about Adam now that last week's festivities are over, babe?

Rihanna

I mean, I just feel kinda neutral, you know? It wasn't my single that fell out of the top 10…

Karen Smith

That reminds me babe, how do you feel about ‘VH1’ and ‘Vodka Cranberry’ making the all-time top ten?

Rihanna

I'm honored! Xtina and Katy are close friends of mine and I'm so happy for all of us! It's amazing to have 2 singles make it into the all-time top 10!

Karen Smith

Will you be going on a vacation soon to celebrate?

Rihanna

I hope so, I’m in desperate need of one! Going through my twitter feed is exhausting.

Karen Smith

Yeah, you look like it could help you out a bit, babe! Shall we play a game?

Rihanna

Absolutely!

Karen Smith

Ok this game is called 'Most Likely To'. Billboard tells me all I have to do is ask a question and you answer me and tell me which of the other artists you think is the most likely to do something. It’s kind of confusing, actually…

Rihanna

I think I get it, babe!

Karen Smith

Question One: "Who's most likely to run away and join the circus?"

Rihanna

I want to say Perrie Edwards but P!nk’s got those acrobatic skills!

Karen Smith

Question Two: "Who's most likely to flee the battlefield if there's ever a war?"

Rihanna

I'm sure Adam Levine would just throw a woman in the way and run off…

Karen Smith

I didn’t know he was a flea!

Question Three: "Who's most likely to be fat, ten years from now?"

Rihanna

Well, fat as in… thick? Because Xtina is dumb thick!

Karen Smith

Question Four: "Who's most likely to be a racist?"

Rihanna

Isn't Adam Levine a Trump supporter?

Karen Smith

Question Five: "Who's most likely to end up homeless?"

Rihanna

Obviously, Kesha.

Karen Smith

Question Six: "Who's most likely to believe the moon landing was fake?"

Rihanna

I feel like that one would be Kesha again. But maybe Troye Sivan… and if Troye Sivan agrees with it, then his boyfriend - Shawn Mendez - would agree with him. I wonder if Kylie Minogue mentions this in her new album…

Karen Smith

You're so wise, babe!

Rihanna

Aww thanks love!

Karen Smith

Unfortunately, that's all I have time for, babe. Thank you for the interview. I hope you can book a much-needed vacation soon! See you later, Rita!

Rihanna

Bye Karen, feel free to sit with the Wine Squad anytime!

bottom of page